Fernando Alonso wins at Monza, Massa third 

Jenson Button finishes second.

Written by David on September 12th, 2010 at 3:42 pmLast Update: September 24th, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Fernando Alonso, MonzaFernando Alonso has won the 2010 edition of the Italian Grand Prix in front of his Ferrari fans, keeping his title hopes open. McLaren’s Jenson Button finished second while Felipe Massa third.

Fourth place for Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel, fifth for Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, sixth for Mark Webber, seventh for Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg, eighth for Renault’s Robert Kubica, ninth for Michael Schumacher and tenth for Rubens Barrichello.

2010 Italian Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Fernando Alonso starts from pole position for the first time since joining Ferrari ahead of reigning world champion Jenson Button in the McLaren. Third place on the grid for Felipe Massa in the other Ferrari, fourth for Mark Webber, fifth for McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton and sixth for Sebastian Vettel. Position seven for Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, eight for Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg, nine for Renault’s Robert Kubica and ten for Rubens Barrichello. Two drivers have been given grid penalties: Virgin’s Timo Glock got a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change while Renault’s Vitaly Petrov got also a five-place grid penalty for blocking Glock during the Q1 qualifying session. Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi hoping to start from the pitlane after a last minute gearbox problem.

Race start: Lights go off at Monza! Button jumps first, great start for the Briton. Alonso P2, Massa P3. Hamilton out with a damaged steering arm after a contact with Massa in the second chicane. Rosberg P4, Kubica P5, Hulkenberg P6.

Lap 2/53: Button P1, Alonso P2, Massa P3.

Lap 3/53: Rosberg P4 then Kubica, Hulkenberg, Vettel, Schumacher and Webber.

Lap 5/53: Alonso pressuring Button for P1.

Lap 6/53: Webber passes Schumacher for P8.

Lap 7/53: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:26.993.

Lap 8/53: Webber being advised over the team radio to look up his tyres.

Lap 11/53: Button P1 with +0.6 seconds to Alonso P2.

Lap 12/53: Fastest lap for Jenson Button in the McLaren: 1:26.861.

Lap 13/53: Button now +1.5 to Alonso. Bruno Senna retires at the second Lesmo turn.

Lap 14/53: Retired drivers so far: Kobayashi, Hamilton, Senna.

Lap 15/53: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:26.421.

Lap 17/53: Another fastest lap for Alonso: 1:26.101. Alguersuari pits from P15.

Lap 20/53: Drive thorugh penalty for Alguersuari for gaining advantage by cutting the chicane.

Lap 21/53: “Problem with the engine, engine stalling”, says Vettel over the team radio. Team-mate Mark Webber has just passed him.

Lap 22/53: Alguersuari makes his drive through.

Lap 23/53: Fastest lap for Massa: 1:25.964. Vettel now lapping OK, but lost P7 to team-mate Webber.

Lap 24/53: Yamamoto pits from P21. Kovalainen pits.

Lap 25/53: Glock pits from P18.

Lap 26/53: Alonso pressuring Button for P1. Trulli pits from P16. Di Grassi pits.

Lap 28/53: Fastest lap for Button: 1:25.929.

Lap 32/53: Button still in the lead ahead of Alonso, Massa, Rosberg, Kubica, Hulkenberg, Webber, Vettel, Schumacher, Buemi. Liuzzi pits from P12.

Lap 33/53: Alonso pressuring Button.

Lap 34/53: Kubica pits from P5 and rejoins in P9.

Lap 35/53: Button being told to push now ahead of the pit stop.

Lap 36/53: Rosberg and Webber pit. Webber rejoins in ninth.

Lap 37/53: Button pits from the lead. The Briton rejoins in P3. Hulkenberg and Schumacher pit. Webber passes Kubica for P7.

Lap 38/53: Alonso pits. The Spaniard rejoins ahead of Button. Alonso P1, Button P2.

Lap 39/53: Massa pits and rejoins behind Button, in P3.

Lap 40/53: Alonso P1, Button P2, Massa P3. Trulli reporting gearbox issues.

Lap 42/53: No pit stop for Vettel (P4) yet.

Lap 43/53: Fastest lap for Alonso 1:24.676.

Lap 45/53: Rosberg P5, Hulkenberg P6, Webber P7, Kubica P8.

Lap 46/53: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:24.531.

Lap 49/53: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:24.483. Trulli retires, gearbox failure.

Lap 50/53: Webber pressuring Hulkenberg for P6. Webber passes Hulkenberg.

Lap 52/53: 2 laps to go, no pit stop yet for Vettel.

Last lap: Vettel pits and keeps P4. Fernando Alonso wins the 2010 edition of the Italian Grand Prix. Jenson Button finishes second ahead of Felipe Massa. Fourth place for Sebastian Vettel, followed by Nico Rosberg, Mark Webber, Nico Hulkenberg, Robert Kubica, Michael Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello.

2010 Italian Grand Prix, Race Results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 53 Winner 1 25
2 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 53 +2.9 secs 2 18
3 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 53 +4.2 secs 3 15
4 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 53 +28.1 secs 6 12
5 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 53 +29.9 secs 7 10
6 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 53 +31.2 secs 4 8
7 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 53 +32.8 secs 8 6
8 11 Robert Kubica Renault 53 +34.0 secs 9 4
9 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 53 +44.9 secs 12 2
10 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 53 +64.2 secs 10 1
11 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 53 +65.0 secs 14
12 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 53 +66.1 secs 19
13 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 53 +78.9 secs 20
14 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 52 +1 Lap 16
15 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 52 +1 Lap 15
16 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 52 +1 Lap 11
17 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 51 +2 Laps 24
18 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 51 +2 Laps 18
19 20 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 51 +2 Laps 23
20 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 50 +3 Laps 21
Ret 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 46 +7 Laps 17
Ret 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 11 +42 Laps 22
Ret 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 0 +53 Laps 5
Ret 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 0 +53 Laps 13

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply