Webber leads Red Bull one-two in Monaco 

Kubica third, Massa fourth.

Written by David on May 16th, 2010 at 4:27 pmLast Update: May 28th, 2010 at 10:43 am

Mark WebberRed Bull’s Mark Webber took another dominant victory by winning the 57th edition of the prestigious Monaco Grand Prix in Monte Carlo ahead of team mate Sebastian Vettel, securing the second one-two finish in the season for Mateschitz team.

Third place for Renault’s Robert Kubica, fourth for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa and fifth for McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton.

Sixth place for Mercedes GP’s Michael Schumacher ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso. Race control however, informed that an incident between the two – the German passed the Spaniard in the final corner during the final lap while the Safety car was entering the pits – will be investigated*.

Eighth place for Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, ninth for Force India’s Adrian Sutil and tenth for Tonio Liuzzi.

*UPDATE: Michael Schumacher has been given a 20 second penalty for having passed Fernando Alonso in the final corner and in the final lap of the 2010 Monaco Grand Prix under Safety Car. The Monaco stewards deemed that Schumacher was in breach of rule 40.13, which states that “if the race ends whilst the safety car is deployed it will enter the pit lane at the end of the last lap and the cars will take the chequered flag as normal without overtaking”. The German drops down to P12. Mercedes GP has decided to appeal the FIA stewards’ penalty decision

2010 Monaco Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Red Bull’s Mark Webber starts from pole position for the second consecutive time in the RB6 ahead of Renault’s Robert Kubica and team-mate Sebastian Vettel. Position four on the grid for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa, five for McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton, six for Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, seven for Michael Schumacher, eight for Jenson Button, nine for Williams’ Rubens Barrichello and ten for Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi. Double world champion Fernando Alonso starts from the pit lane. The Spaniard missed Saturday’s qualifying following a crash that caused damage on the F10′s chassis during practice 3. Alonso on Super softs.

Race start: Lights go off…race start at Monte Carlo! Into Turn 1, Webber P1, Vettel P2, Kubica P3.

Lap 2/78: Safety car deployed. Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg has crashed at the tunnel exit. Alonso pits. Webber P1, Vettel P2, Kubica P3, Alonso P23.

Lap 3/78: Senna pits in the HRT. Jenon Button is out of the race. Looks like his McLaren had overheating issues.

Lap 5/78: Webber still in the lead ahead of Vettel, Kubica, Massa, Hamilton, Barrichello, Schumacher, Rosberg, Liuzzi and Sutil.

Lap 6/78: Alonso P21. Safety car in this lap.

Lap 7/78: The race restarts. Alonso in P20.

Lap 8/78: Alonso in P20, tailing di Grassi for P19.

Lap 9/78: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:19.625.

Lap 10/78: Alonso makes it past di Grassi at the tunnel exit for P19.

Lap 11/78: Alonso now pressuring Trulli for P18. Alonso overtakes Trulli for P18.

Lap 12/78: Webber still in P1, Vettl in P2, Kubica P3, Massa P4 and Hamilton P5.

Lap 13/78: Alonso now tailing Glock for P17.

Lap 14/78: Fastest lap for Webber. Alonso overtakes Glock at the Tunnel exit. Alonso now in P17.

Lap 16/78: Alonso pressuring Kovalainen for P16. Alonso now in P16 after overtaking Kovalainen.

Lap 17/78: Fastest lap for Webber.

Lap 18/78: Hamilton pits from P5. The Briton rejoins in P15, just ahead of Alonso.

Lap 20/78: Massa pits. Schumacher, Barrichello, Liuzzi pit.

Lap 21/78: Chandhok has pitted in the HRT. Buemi pits. Fastest lap for Rosberg.

Lap 22/78: Kubica, Petrov and Alguersuari pit.

Lap 23/78: Vettel pits from P2. Sutil and de la Rosa pit. Webber pits.

Lap 24/78: Webber rejoins in P1 after his pit stop. Rosberg P2, Vettel P3, Kubica P4.

Lap 26/78: Di Grassi pits in the Virgin.

Lap 28/78: Trulli pits. Di Grassi out. Rosberg pits, he rejoins behind team-mate Michael Schumacher.

Lap 29/78: Kovalainen pits.

Lap 30/78: Webber first followed by Vettel, Kubica, Massa, Hamilton, Alonso, Schumacher, Rosberg, Sutil and Barrichello.

Lap 31/78: Petrov pits after a puncture. Safety car deployed. Barrichello has crashed heavily at the Massenet after what appeared a suspension failure.

Lap 33/78: Safety car in this lap. Webber P1, Vettel P2, Kubica P3, MAssa P4.

Lap 37/78: Webber P1, Vettel P2, then Kubica, Massa, Hamilton, Alonso, Schumacher, Rosberg, Sutil, Liuzzi, Buemi, Alguersuari, Petrov, Kovalainen, Senna, Chandhok, and Trulli.

Lap 40/78: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:17.330.

Lap 41/78: Fastest lap for Kubica: 1:17.036.

Lap 42/78: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:16.828.

Lap 44/78: Safety car deployed again. Drain cover loose at turn 3 says Race Control.

Lap 45/78: Safety car in this lap.

Lap 46/78: Race restarts. Webber P1, Vettel P2, Kubica P3.

Lap 49/78: Webber +2.5s to Vettel.

Lap 50/78: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:16.505.

Lap 52/78: Another fastest lap for Webber: 1:16.310.

Lap 54/78: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:15.999.

Lap 61/78: Webber P1, Vettel P2, Kubica P3 then Massa, Hamilton, Alonso, Schumacher, Rosberg, Sutil, Liuzzi, Buemi and Alguersuari.

Lap 62/78: Kovalainen and Senna pit. It’s a retirement for both.

Lap 72/78: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:15.192.

Lap 75/78: Jarno Trulli and Karun Chandhok have collided at the Rascasse. Safety car deployed. Both drivers are OK.

Lap 76/78: Petrov pits and retires.

Last lap: Red Bull’s Mark Webber takes another dominant win at Monaco. Team mate Sebastian Vettel finishes second, securing another one two finish for Red Bull Racing. Third place for Renault’s Robert Kubica, fourth for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa and fifth for McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton. Michael Schumacher overtakes Fernando Alonso at the final corner and grabs the sixth place although this manouvre will be investigated by the stewards. Eighth place for Nico Rosberg, ninth for Adrian Sutil and tenth for Tonio Liuzzi.

2010 Monaco Grand Prix, Revised race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 78 Winner 1 25
2 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 78 +0.4 secs 3 18
3 11 Robert Kubica Renault 78 +1.6 secs 2 15
4 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 78 +2.6 secs 4 12
5 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 78 +4.3 secs 5 10
6 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 78 +6.3 secs 24 8
7 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 78 +6.6 secs 6 6
8 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 78 +6.9 secs 12 4
9 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 78 +7.3 secs 10 2
10 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 78 +8.1 secs 13 1
11 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 78 +9.1 secs 17
12 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 78 +25.7 secs 7
13 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 73 +5 Laps 14
14 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 70 Accident 23
15 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 70 Accident 19
Ret 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 58 Steering 18
Ret 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 58 Hydraulics 22
Ret 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 30 Accident 9
Ret 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 26 Gearbox 16
Ret 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 25 Wheel problem 21
Ret 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 22 Rear suspension 20
Ret 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 21 Hydraulics 15
Ret 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 2 Engine 8
Ret 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 0 Accident 11

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply