Vettel leads Red Bull one-two in Brazil 

Red Bull Racing wins first ever F1 Constructors' Championship

Written by David on November 07th, 2010 at 7:57 pmLast Update: November 12th, 2010 at 12:45 pm

Sebastian VettelRed Bull’s Sebastian Vettel has won the 2010 edition of the Brazilian Grand Prix ahead of team-mate Mark Webber, in a historic one-two finish for the Milton Keynes based team as it secures their first ever F1 constructors’ championship.

Third place for Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso who keeps the lead in the drivers’ title battle by eight points to Mark Webber, ahead of McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button, Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, Michael Schumacher, Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg, Renault’s Robert Kubica and Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi.

2010 Brazilian Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Nico Hulkenberg starts from pole position for the first time in his F1 career – first time for the Williams F1 team since 2005 – ahead of Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel. Third place on the grid for Mark Webber in the other Red Bull, fourth for Lewis Hamilton, fifth for championship leader Fernando Alonso, sixth for local hero Rubens Barrichello and seventh for Renault’s Robert Kubica. Position eight for Michael Schumacher in the Mercedes, nine for Felipe Massa in the other Ferrari and ten for Vitaly Petrov in the other Renault.

Race start: Lights go off at Interlagos! Into turn 1, Vettel P1, Hulkenberg and Webber. Webber passes Hulkenberg for P2. Alonso pressuring Hamilton for P4.

Lap 2/71: Alonso passes Hamilton for P4. Vettel P1, Webber P2, Hulkenberg P3, Alonso P4.

Lap 4/71: Alonso pressuring Hulkenberg for P3. Hamilton P5, Kubica P6, Barrichello P7 and Massa P8.

Lap 5/71: Alonso now trying to close the gap to the Red Bulls, but Hulkenberg defends well his third place.

Lap 6/71: Both Red Bulls are flying away, +8.0 to Hulkenberg.

Lap 7/71: Alonso overtakes Hulkenberg for P3. Hamilton now tailing the young German for P4.

Lap 8/71: Alonso trying to catch up the two Red Bulls now. Vettel P1, Webber P2, Alonso P3, Hulkenberg P4.

Lap 9/71: Team radio for Hamilton: “no grip” says the Briton.

Lap 11/71: Tight battle between Hamilton and Hulkenberg for P4.

Lap 12/71: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:16.799. Button pits from P10.

Lap 13/71: Massa pits from P8. The Brazilian rejoins in P18.

Lap 14/71: Barrichello pits. Massa pits again after a problem with his right front tyre.

Lap 15/71: Hulkenberg and Kubica pits. Heidfeld pits.

Lap 16/71: Alguersuari has pitted.

Lap 17/71: Vettel still in the lead, Webber P2, Alonso P3, Hamilton P4, Schumacher P5, Rosberg P6, Buemi P7, Kobayashi P8. Liuzzi pits. Button passes Petrov for P10.

Lap 18/71: Glock pits. Kovalainen pits.

Lap 19/71: Buemi pits.

Lap 20/71: Petrov pits.

Lap 21/71: Fastest lap for Felipe Massa (P19): 1:16.704. Hamilton and Schumacher pit. Hamilton rejoins in P6 ahead of Button. Trulli pits.

Lap 23/71: Fastest lap for Hamilton. Schumacher pressuring Sutil for P8.

Lap 24/71: Another fastest lap for Hamilton: 1:16.274.

Lap 25/71: Alonso pits from P3. Alonso rejoins in P3 ahead of Rosberg.

Lap 26/71: Vettel pits from P1. Vettel rejoins in P2. Hamilton overtakes Kobayashi for P5. Sennapits.

Lap 27/71: Webber pits from P1. The Australian rejoins in P2. Rosberg pits.

Lap 28/71: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:15.969.

Lap 29/71: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:15.839.

Lap 30/71: Di Grassi pits. Replays show Button passing Kobayashi for P5.

Lap 32/71: Vettel P1, Webber P2, Alonso P3, Hamilton P4, Button P5, Kobayashi P6.

Lap 35/71: Barrichello loosing several positions after a puncture. Replays show the Brazilian touching slightly Alguersuari’s front wing.

Lap 39/71: Rosberg has passed Kobayashi for P6.

Lap 40/71: Vettel P1, Webber P2, Alonso P3, HAmilton P4, Button P5, Rosberg P6.

Lap 43/71: Di Grassi pits for the second time.

Lap 46/71: Webber has slowly closed the gap to race leader Vettel. His gap now is down to 1.5s.

Lap 48/71: Vettel laps Massa.

Lap 49/71: Di Grassi rejoins the race after spending several laps in the pit garage.

Lap 50/71: Kobayashi has pitted.

Lap 51/71: Liuzzi has crashed at Turn 2. Safety Car deployed.

Lap 52/71: Massa, Heidfeld and Petrov pit. Hamilton, Barrichello and Sutil pit.

Lap 53/71: Still under Safety car. Button pits.

Lap 55/71: Safety car in this lap.

Lap 56/71: The race resumes.

Lap 57/71: Massa overtakes Heidfeld for P14.

Lap 58/71: Massa overtakes Sutil for P13.

Lap 60/71: Massa makes contact with Buemi. The Brazilian is now down to P15.

Lap 61/71: Vettel P1, Webber P2, Alonso P3, Hamilton P4, Button P5.

Lap 63/71: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:14.229.

Lap 65/71: Heidfeld passes Buemi for P13.

Lap 66/71: Another fastest lap for Hamilton: 1:13.956. Heidfeld pits from P14.

Lap 69/71: Vettel P1, Webber P2, Alonso P3, Hamilton P4.

Last lap: Sebastian Vettel wins the 2010 edition of the Brazilian Grand Prix ahead of team-mate Mark Webber, handing for the first time the 2010 Constructors’ Championship to Red Bull Racing. Third place for Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso who keeps the lead in the drivers’ title, fourth for Lewis Hamilton, fifth for Jenson Button, sixth for Nico Rosberg, seventh for Michael Schumacher, eight for Nico Hulkenberg, nine for Rosbert Kubica and ten for Kamui Kobayashi.

2010 Brazilian Grand Prix race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 71 Winner 2 25
2 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 71 +4.2 secs 3 18
3 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 71 +6.8 secs 5 15
4 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 71 +14.6 secs 4 12
5 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 71 +15.5 secs 11 10
6 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 71 +35.3 secs 13 8
7 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 71 +43.4 secs 8 6
8 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 70 +1 Lap 1 4
9 11 Robert Kubica Renault 70 +1 Lap 7 2
10 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 70 +1 Lap 12 1
11 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 70 +1 Lap 14
12 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 70 +1 Lap 22
13 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 70 +1 Lap 19
14 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 70 +1 Lap 6
15 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 70 +1 Lap 9
16 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 70 +1 Lap 10
17 22 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber-Ferrari 70 +1 Lap 15
18 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 69 +2 Lap 20
19 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 69 +2 Laps 18
20 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 69 +2 Laps 17
21 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 69 +2 Laps 24
22 20 Christian Klien HRT-Cosworth 65 +6 Laps 23
Ret 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 62 +9 Laps 21
Ret 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 49 +22 Laps 16

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply