Mark Webber takes dominant win in Hungary 

Fernando Alonso second, Sebastian Vettel third.

Written by David on August 01st, 2010 at 4:03 pmLast Update: August 27th, 2010 at 3:44 pm

Mark WebberRed Bull’s Mark Webber took a dominant victory – his fourth in the season – at the 25th edition of the Hungarian Grand Prix, taking at the same time the temporary lead in the drivers’ championship.

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso finished second ahead of Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel, team-mate Felipe Massa, Renault’s Vitaly Petrov at his best-ever finish, Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg, Sauber’s Pedro de la Rosa, McLaren’s Jenson Button, Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi and Williams’ Rubens Barrichello.

UPDATE: The Hungarian GP stewards have penalised Michael Schumacher with a 10 place grid penalty for the next Grand Prix in Belgium for his dangerous manoeuvre on Rubens Barrichello.

2010 Hungarian Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel starts from pole position for the seventh time in the season ahead of team mate Mark Webber. Third place on the Hungarian grid for Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, fourth for Felipe Massa, fifth for McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton and sixth for Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg. Position seven for Renault’s Vitaly Petrov on his best-ever start position, eight for Robert Kubica, nine for Pedro de la Rosa in the Sauber and ten for Nico Hulkenberg in the Williams.

Race start: Lights go off at the Hungaroring…great start for Alonso who gets past Webber for P2. Vettel P1, Alonso, Webber, Massa. Petrov in fifth. Button has lost several positions, he’s now in 15th.

Lap 2/70: Hamilton overtakes Petrov for P5. Smoke coming off Alguersuari’s STR. Alguersuari retires.

Lap 6/70: Vettel P1, Alonso P2, Webber P3, Massa P4 then Hamilton, Petrov, Rosberg, Kubica and Barrichello. Vettel has a +5.0 sec gap to Alonso.

Lap 7/70: Team radio: Schumacher lamenting problems with his car’s brakes.

Lap 9/70: Button pressuring Schumacher for P13.

Lap 11/70: Vettel still leading ahead of Alonso, Webber, Massa, Hamilton, Petrov, Rosberg, Kubica, Barrichello, Hulkenberg, De la Rosa.

Lap 15/70: Pit stop for Button and Liuzzi. Liuzzi swaps his front wing. Safety car deployed after some debris on the track.

Lap 16/70: Vettel pits, along with Alonso, Massa and Hamilton. Sutil and Kubica have collided in the pits. Rosberg has stopped at the end of the pitlane with his rear right wheel off. Replays show Rosberg’s wheel came loose crossing dangerously the pitlane. Kubica continues the race while Sutil retires.

Lap 17/70: Safety car in this lap.

Lap 18/70: Webber P1, Vettel P2, Alonso P3, Hamilton P4, Massa P5.

Lap 21/70: Trulli pits in the Lotus.

Lap 23/70: Race control: 10 second stop and go penalty for Kubica for causing a collision in the pitlane.

Lap 24/70: Kubica takes his stop/go penalty. Hamilton parks the McLaren in the gravel and retires after a gearbox failure.

Lap 25/70: Vettel under investigation for slowing down too much during the post Safety car restart. Kubica retires.

Lap 27/70: Vettel being informed of the investigation over the team radio. Webber in the lead but has yet to pit.

Lap 29/70: Webber P1, Vettel P2, Alonso P3, Massa P4 then Barrichello, Petrov, Hulkenberg. Drive through penalty for Vettel for exceeding 10 cars length during the Safety Car restart.

Lap 32/70: Vettel takes his drive through penalty. Vettel rejoins in P3 ahead of Massa.

Lap 33/70: Webber and Barrichello have yet to pit.

Lap 36/70: Fastest lap for Webber.

Lap 39/70: Webber P1 with +20.6s on Alonso P2. Vettel P3, Massa P4.

Lap 40/70: Vettel P3, has closed the gap to Alonso, P2.

Lap 41/70: Webber first with +22.8s to Alonso. Vettel now pressuring Alonso for P2.

Lap 44/70: Webber makes his first pit stop and rejoins in P1. Alonso P2, Vettel P3, Massa P4.

Lap 54/70: Webber comfortably in P1, Alonso in P2, Vettel in P3, Massa in P4.

Lap 56/70: Barrichello makes his first pit stop after 55 laps. He rejoins in P11.

Lap 62/70: Barrichello fighting with Schumacher for P10.

Lap 66/70: Barrichello overtakes Schumacher on the main straight with Schumacher forcing him dangerously towards the pit wall.

Lap 68/70: Race control: incident between Barrichello and Schumacher to be investigated after the race.

Last lap: Red Bull’s Mark Webber takes a comfortable win at the 2010 Hungarian Grand Prix ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and team-mate Sebastian Vettel. Fourth place for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa, fifth for Renault’s Vitaly Petrov, sixth for Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg, seventh for Sauber’s Pedro de la Rosa, eighth for McLaren’s Jenson Button, ninth for Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi and tenth for Williams’ Rubens Barrichello.

2010 Hungarian Grand Prix, Race Results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 70 Winner 2 25
2 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 70 +17.8 secs 3 18
3 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 70 +19.2 secs 1 15
4 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 70 +27.4 secs 4 12
5 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 70 +73.1 secs 7 10
6 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 70 +76.7 secs 10 8
7 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 9 6
8 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 69 +1 Lap 11 4
9 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 23 2
10 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 69 +1 Lap 12 1
11 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 69 +1 Lap 14
12 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 15
13 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 69 +1 Lap 16
14 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 67 +3 Laps 19
15 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 67 +3 Laps 20
16 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 67 +3 Laps 18
17 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 67 +3 Laps 22
18 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 66 +4 Laps 21
19 20 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 66 +4 Laps 24
Ret 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 23 +47 Laps 5
Ret 11 Robert Kubica Renault 23 +47 Laps 8
Ret 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 15 +55 Laps 6
Ret 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 15 +55 Laps 13
Ret 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1 +69 Laps 17

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply