Lewis Hamilton leads another McLaren one-two in Canada 

Podium finish for Fernando Alonso

Written by David on June 13th, 2010 at 8:25 pmLast Update: June 23rd, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Lewis Hamilton2008 world champion Lewis Hamilton has won the 2010 edition of the Canadian Grand Prix at Montreal ahead of team mate and 2009 world champion Jenson Button, securing the third one-two finish in the season for McLaren.

Third place for Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, ahead of Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel, Mark Webber, Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, Renault’s Robert Kubica and Toro Rosso’s Sebastien Buemi.

Ninth and tenth place respectively for Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi and Adrian Sutil.

2010 Canadian Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton starts from pole position for the first time in the season ahead of Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel and Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso. Position four on the grid for reigning world champion Jenson Button, five for Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi and six for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa. Position seven for championship leader Mark Webber who qualified second but was demoted by five places on the grid after a gearbox change.

Race start: Into turn 1, Hamilton P1, Vettel, Alonso. de la Rosa has spun on the gravel. Collision between Liuzzi and Massa. Button p4, Webber p5, Kubica p6.

Lap 2/70: Liuzzi, de la Rosa and Massa have pitted. New front wing for Massa and Liuzzi.

Lap 3/70: Webber pressuring Button for P4. Kobayashi retires.

Lap 5/70: Webber passes Button for P4. Hamilton still in the lead followed by Vettel, Alonso. Kubica tailing Button for P5.

Lap 6/70: Rosberg and Trulli pit.

Lap 7/70: Vettel pressuring Hamilton for P1. Button has pitted. Sutil, Hulkenberg have also pitted.

Lap 8/70: Hamilton and Alonso pit. Wheel to wheel out of the pits for the former team mates.

Lap 9/70: Vettel P1, Webber P2, Kubica P3, Schumacher P4, Buemi P5, Alonso P6.

Lap 10/70: Kubica pits, he rejoins in ninth. Petrov under investigation for jump start.

Lap 11/70: Drive through penalty for Petrov.

Lap 12/70: Barrichello pits for a new front wing.

Lap 13/70: Schumacher pits from P3. The German rejoins in P8, ahead of Kubica. Webber pits from P2.

Lap 15/70: Vettel pits from the lead. Vettel rejoins in fifth. Schumacher has pitted again. Buemi currently in the lead, but he pits. Hamilton overtakes Alonso for P1.

Lap 16/70: Hamilton P1, Alonso P2, Button P3. Meanwhile Bruno Senna has retired in the HRT.

Lap 17/70: Vettel P4, Webber P5, Kubica P6, Sutil P7, Buemi P8, Rosberg P9, Hulkenberg P10. Massa P16.

Lap 19/70: de la Rosa and Petrov pit.

Lap 23/70: Hamilton P1, Alonso P2, Button P3, Vettel P4, Webber P5. Race Control: another drive through penalty for Petrov, this time, for causing a collision.

Lap 24/70: Massa pits from P14.

Lap 25/70: Great driving from Sutil in the Force India, now tailing Kubica for P6. Hulkenberg and Liuzzi pit. Glock pits.

Lap 26/70: Alguersuari pits.

Lap 27/70: Hamilton pits from P1. Alonso in the lead ahead of Button, Vettel and Webber. Kubica pits. Hamilton rejoins in p5.

Lap 28/70: Vettel and Button pit. Hulkenberg under investigation for speeding in the pitlane. Sutil has pitted after a puncture.

Lap 29/70: Alonso pits from P1. Webber now leading the race. Hamilton P2, Alonso P3, Button P4.

Lap 32/70: Looks like an engine failure for de la Rosa: he’s out.

Lap 34/70: Kovalainen pits. Vettel closing in on Button for P4. Schumacher pits for the third time.

Lap 36/70: Buemi pits. Webber P1, Hamilton P2, Alonso P3.

Lap 39/70: Fastest lap for Hamilton: 1:18.868.

Lap 40/70: Another fastest lap for Hamilton: 1:18.810.

Lap 41/70: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:18.650.

Lap 43/70: Massa pits. Di Grassi and Alguersuari pit.

Lap 44/70: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:18.567.

Lap 45/70: Webber still in P1, Hamilton in P2, Alonso in P3, Button P4, Vettel P5, Kubica P6, Rosberg P7, Buemi P8, Schumacher P9, Hulkenberg P10.

Lap 47/70: Trulli retires.

Lap 49/70: Hamilton and Alonso have closed the gap to race leader Webber.

Lap 50/70: Hamilton makes it past Webber. Hamilton P1, Webber P2, Alonso P3.

Lap 51/70: Webber pits while Alonso moves up to second. The Australian rejoins in fifth.

Lap 53/70: Hamilton P1, +3.2 secs on Alonso P2. Kovalainen pits.

Lap 54/70: Massa passes Sutil for P11. The Brazilian is now aiming Hulkenberg for P10.

Lap 55/70: Button pressuring Alonso for P2. Glock retires.

Lap 56/70: Button takes advantage of a traffic scenario and overtakes Alonso. Button now in P2.

Lap 58/70: Hamilton P1, Button P2, Alonso P3, Vettel P4, Webber P5.

Lap 59/70: Alonso now pressuring Button for P2. Petrov pits.

Lap 60/70: Kubica pits. Buemi overtakes Schumacher for P8.

Lap 62/70: Fastest lap for Hamilton: 1:18.025.

Lap 63/70: Fastest lap for Kubica: 1:17.606.

Lap 64/70: Another fastest lap for Kubica: 1:17.178.

Lap 65/70: Massa pits for a new front wing after a slight contact with Michael Schumacher. The incident will be investigated at the end of the race.

Last lap: Lewis Hamilton leads the third one-two finish in the season for McLaren’s Mercedes at the 2010 Canadian Grand Prix, ahead of team-mate Jenson Button. Third place for Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, fourth for Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel, fifth for Mark Webber, sixth for Nico Rosberg, seventh for Robert Kubica, eighth for Sebastien Buemi, ninth for Tonio Liuzzi and tenth Adrian Sutil.

2010 Canadian Grand Prix race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 70 Winner 1 25
2 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 70 +2.2 secs 4 18
3 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 70 +9.2 secs 3 15
4 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 70 +37.8 secs 2 12
5 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 70 +39.2 secs 7 10
6 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 70 +56.0 secs 10 8
7 11 Robert Kubica Renault 70 +57.3 secs 8 6
8 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 15 4
9 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 69 +1 Lap 5 2
10 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 69 +1 Lap 9 1
11 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 69 +1 Lap 13
12 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 16
13 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 69 +1 Lap 12
14 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 69 +1 Lap 11
15 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 69 +1 Lap 6
16 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 68 +2 Laps 19
17 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 68 +2 Laps 14
18 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 64 +4 Laps 24
19 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 65 +5 Laps 23
Ret 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 50 +20 Laps 21
Ret 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 42 +28 Laps 20
Ret 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 30 +40 Laps 17
Ret 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 13 +57 Laps 22
Ret 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1 +69 Laps 18

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply