Jenson Button grabs sixth win of 2009 in Turkey 

Webber and Vettel take podium finish

Written by David on June 07th, 2009 at 3:59 pmLast Update: June 12th, 2009 at 12:50 pm

Championship leader Jenson Button has grabbed his sixth win in the season at the 2009 Turkish Grand Prix ahead of Red Bull duo, with Mark Webber finishing second and Sebastian Vettel third.

Fourth place for Toyota’s Jarno Trulli ahead of fifth placed Nico Rosberg, sixth Felipe Massa, seventh Robert Kubica and eighth Timo Glock.

A Sunday to forget for Button’s team-mate, Rubens Barrichello, who after a disastrous start had also to retire with ten laps to go following a gearbox problem.

2009 Turkish Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Sebastian Vettel starts from pole for Red Bull Racing for the second time this season. Championship leader Jenson Button starts from the second spot, Rubens Barrichello from the third. Vettel, Button, Barrichello to start on the hard tyre, like most of the drivers.

Race start: Vettel leads, Button follows, then Trulli, Webber and the two Ferraris. A disastrous start for Barrichello, he’s 13th. Button passes Vettel at Turn 9 for P1. The German made a mistake and run wide at Turn 9.

Lap 57/58: Webber passes Trulli for P3.

Lap 56/58: Button P1, Vettel P2, Webber P3 then Rosberg, Massa, Alonso, Kubica and Raikkonen. Barrichello tailing Kovalainen for P11.

Lap 55/58: Button 1.7 secs ahead of Vettel.

Lap 54/58: Pit stop for Fisichella. His mechanics park the car in the garage. The’re currently working on the car. It seems a problem with the brakes.

Lap 51/58: Kovalainen runs wide, Barrichello passes him but the Finn fights back and retakes the position. At Turn 9 Barrichello tries to pass Kovalainen again but makes minor contact ans spins. The Brazilian is now in P17, behind Lewis Hamilton.

Lap 49/58: Barrichello passes Hamilton for P16. Button still leading the race with 4.2 secs on Vettel. Webber P3, Trulli P4, Rosberg P5, Massa P6.

Lap 48/58: Barrichello passes Piquet for P15.

Lap 47/58: Fisichella retires. The Italian lamented problems with the brake bias.

Lap 46/58: Barrichello damages slightly his front wing while trying to pass Sutil for P14.

Lap 45/58: Barrichello pits for a new front wing.

Lap 44/58: Pit stop for Alonso.

Lap 43/58: Vettel pits, 6.5 secs back in P6.

Lap 42/58: Pit stop for Trulli, 9.0 secs, back in P9. Button leads with 11.7 seconds on Webber.

Lap 41/58: Button pits, 9.3 secs, back in P3. Massa pits.

Lap 40/58: Webber pits, 9.4 secs. Rosberg and Raikkonen pit. Button back in the lead followed by Vettel, Kubica and Webber.

Lap 39/58: Kovalainen pits. 9.1 secs.

Lap 38/58: Kubica pits. 9.3 secs, back in P10.

Lap 37/58: Vettel closing in on Button. Hamilton passes Raikkonen for P13.

Lap 35/58: Vettel almost tailing Button. The German however is in a three-stop strategy.

Lap 33/58: Pit stop for Buemi and Nakajima.

Lap 32/58: Hamilton, Heidfeld, Piquet, Bourdais and Glock still to pit.

Lap 31/58: Button P1, Vettel P2, Webber P3, Rosberg P4, Glock P5, Trulli P6, Massa P7.

Lap 30/58: Heidfeld pits.

Lap 29/58: Vettel pits again, 8.6 secs. Back in P3.

Lap 28/58: Glock pits.

Lap 27/58: Pit stop for Piquet.

Lap 26/58: Hamilton pits. 9.8 secs, he goes on the softer tyre.

Lap 25/58: Piquet passes Hamilton for P16.

Lap 24/58: Button still leading with 17.9 secs on Webber.

Lap 22/58: Replays show Buemi overtaking Hamilton for P17.

Lap 20/58: Barrichello pits again. He’s now on the soft tyres.

Lap 18/58: Rosberg pits again, 6.9 secs, back in P7 behind team-mate Nakajima.

Lap 16/58: Pit stop for Massa, 7.4 secs, soft tyres. Massa rejoins in P10.

Lap 15/58: Pit stop for Button: 7.3 secs. soft tyres. Pit stop also for Webber: 7.1 secs. Trulli and Nakajima pit.

Lap 12/58: Glock pushing on Rosberg for P5.

Lap 11/58: Glock pits.

Lap 10/58: Third pit stop for Vettel: 5.8s, back in P3. Barrichello retires after a gearbox problem. This is Brawn GP’s first retirement.

Lap 6/58: Vettel trying to close in on team-mate Webber.

Lap 5/58: Team radio for Vettel: his engineer says to save his car, as Webber is faster.

Last lap: Brawn GP’s Jenson Button scores his sixth win in this season (out of seven races) ahead of Red Bull Racing duo with Mark Webber taking second place and Sebastian Vettel third. Fourth place for Toyota’s Jarno Trulli, fifth for Williams’ Nico Rosberg, sixth for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa, seventh for BMW’s Robert Kubica and eighth for Timo Glock.

2009 Turkish Grand Prix, race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 22 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 58 Winner 2 10
2 14 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 58 +6.7 secs 4 8
3 15 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 58 +7.4 secs 1 6
4 9 Jarno Trulli Toyota 58 +27.8 secs 5 5
5 16 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 58 +31.5 secs 9 4
6 3 Felipe Massa Ferrari 58 +39.9 secs 9 3
7 5 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 58 +46.2 secs 10 2
8 10 Timo Glock Toyota 58 +46.9 secs 13 1
9 4 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 58 +50.2 secs 6
10 7 Fernando Alonso Renault 58 +62.4 secs 8
11 6 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 58 +64.3 secs 11
12 17 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 58 +66.3 secs 12
13 1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 58 +80.4 secs 16
14 2 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 57 +1 Lap 14
15 12 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 57 +1 Lap 18
16 8 Nelsinho Piquet Renault 57 +1 Lap 17
17 20 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 57 +1 Lap 15
18 11 Sebastien Bourdais STR-Ferrari 57 +1 Lap 20
Ret 23 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 47 +11 Lap 3
Ret 21 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes 4 +54 Laps 19

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply