Button leads Brawn GP one-two in Monaco 

Raikkonen on the podium, Massa 4th.

Written by David on May 24th, 2009 at 4:10 pmLast Update: May 29th, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Jenson ButtonBrawn GP’s Jenson Button has won the 56th edition of the prestigious Monaco Grand Prix in Monte Carlo ahead of his team-mate Rubens Barrichello, scoring the third one-two finish for Ross Brawn’s team.

Third and fourth place respectively for Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa bringing finally some points for Ferrari ahead of fifth placed Mark Webber, sixth Nico Rosberg, seventh Fernando Alonso and eighth Sebastien Bourdais.

2009 Monaco Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Lewis Hamilton will start from the back of the grid – 19th – following a gearbox change. Toyota’s Timo Glock, will start from the pitlane as his mechanics had to change the car’s setup.

Race start: Great start for Barrichello who gains P2 to Raikkonen. Massa passes Rosberg for P5. Button, Barrichello, Raikkonen, Vettel, Massa and Rosberg.

Lap 75/78: The two Brawns are already pulling away from Raikkonen. Vettel P4, Massa P5, Rosberg P6, Kovalainen P7.

Lap 73/78: Massa tailing Vettel for P4. Massa tries to pass Vettel at the tunnel exit. Vettel keeps the position.

Lap 72/78: Massa retries to overtake Vettel at the Tunnel exit. The Brazilian runs wide over the chicane and Rosberg passes him. Massa had to slow down in order to let Vettel re-pass.

Lap 70/78: Button leading the race with 2.8 secs on Barrichello.

Lap 69/78: Mechanics suggest Barrichello to lookout his tyres.

Lap 68/78: Rosberg, Massa and Kovalainen pass Vettel. Vettel heads to the pits. Hamilton too. Buemi runs into the back of Piquet before turn 1. They’re both out.

Lap 66/78: Raikkonen tailing Barrichello for P2. Button P1, Barrichello P2, Raikkonen P3, Rosberg P4.

Lap 64/78: Raikkonen still pushing on Barrichello. New fastest lap from Williams’ Nico Rosberg. Raikkonen pits, back in P7.

Lap 62/78: Pit stop for Barrichello. Vettel hits the barriers at Ste Devote, he’s out.

Lap 61/78: Button pits, 7.0 secs, back in P2. Rosberg leads the race. Rosberg P1, Button P2, Massa P3. Massa pushing on Button for P2.

Lap 60/78: Rosberg pits, back in P8. Button back in the lead followed by Massa.

Lap 58/78: Massa pits, 9.3 secs, back in P7 ahead of Rosberg. Kovalainen pits.

Lap 57/78: Button P1, Webber P2, Barrichello P3, Raikkonen P4, Alonso P5.

Lap 56/78: Pit stop for Webber, 8.7 secs, back in P6. Alonso still to pit.

Lap 54/78: Button leading the race with 16.7 secs on Barrichello.

Lap 50/78: Alonso pits. 8.9 secs, back in P11.

Lap 49/78: Kubica pits. His car is pulled into the BMW garage. Kubica out.

Lap 44/78: Fastest lap for Felipe Massa.

Lap 43/78: Nakajima pits.

Lap 42/78: Button laps Hamilton.

Lap 40/78: Button P1, Barrichello P2, Raikkonen P3, Massa P4, Webber P5, Rosberg P6.

Lap 37/78: Replays show Massa cutting the chicane at the Swimming Pool turn. Team radio for Massa: his engineer says they have received a second warning for cutting the chicane.

Lap 36/78: Heidfeld pits.

Lap 33/78: Replays show Raikkonen cutting the chicane.

Lap 29/78: Fastest lap for race leader Jenson Button.

Lap 28/78: Pit stop for Barrichello, back in P5. Sutil and Bourdais pit. Button pits.

Lap 26/78: Kovalainen out. The Finn spun at the Swimming pool chicane and hit the barriers.

Lap 25/78: Raikkonen pits, back in P5.

Lap 24/78: Hamilton pits.

Lap 23/78: Massa, Webber pit. Massa 7.5 secs, he rejoins in P4.

Lap 18/78: Button P1, Barrichello P2, Raikkonen P3, Massa P4.

Lap 13/78: Pit stop for Rosberg, 8.4 secs, back in P7.

Lap 12/78: Pit stop for Alonso. The Spaniard rejoins in P7.

Last lap: Nakajima, out: he hit the wall at Mirabeau. Jenson Button leads the third Brawn GP one-two in the season ahead of team-mate Rubens Barrichello. Third and fourth place for Kimi Raikkonen and Felipe Massa, followed by Mark Webber, Nico Rosberg, Fernando Alonso and Sebastien Bourdais.

2009 Monaco Grand Prix, race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 22 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 78 Winner 1 10
2 23 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 78 +7.6 secs 3 8
3 4 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 78 +13.4 secs 2 6
4 3 Felipe Massa Ferrari 78 +15.1 secs 5 5
5 14 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 78 +15.7 secs 8 4
6 16 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 78 +33.5 secs 6 3
7 7 Fernando Alonso Renault 78 +37.8 secs 9 2
8 11 Sebastien Bourdais STR-Ferrari 78 +63.1 secs 14 1
9 21 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Mercedes 78 +65.0 secs 13
10 10 Timo Glock Toyota 77 +1 Lap 19
11 6 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 77 +1 Lap 16
12 1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 77 +1 Lap 20
13 9 Jarno Trulli Toyota 77 +1 Lap 18
14 20 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 77 +1 Lap 15
15 17 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 76 +2 Laps 10
Ret 2 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 51 +27 Laps 7
Ret 5 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 28 +50 Laps 17
Ret 15 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 15 +63 Laps 4
Ret 8 Nelsinho Piquet Renault 10 +68 Laps 12
Ret 12 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 10 +68 Laps 11

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply