Button crowned world champion at Interlagos 

Webber wins, Brawn GP secures Constructors' Championship

Written by David on October 18th, 2009 at 8:04 pmLast Update: October 23rd, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Jenson Button, 2009 F1 World ChampionBrawn GP’s Jenson Button has secured the 2009 F1 Drivers’ title by finishing fifth at the 37th edition of the Brazilian Grand Prix, as Red Bull’s Mark Webber scored his second win in the season.

BMW’s Robert Kubica finished second after an impressive performance ahead of McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton and Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel.

Sixth place for Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen, seventh for Toro Rosso’s Sebastien Buemi and eighth for local hero Rubens Barrichello.

2009 Brazilian Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Title contender Rubens Barrichello starts from pole for Brawn GP ahead of Red Bull’s Mark Webber and Force India’s Adrian Sutil. Behind the three, there’s Toyota’s Jarno Trulli and Kimi Raikkonen. Championship leader Jenson Button starts from P14 as he failed to qualify to Q3. Next to the Briton, there’s another title contender, Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel. The young German moved up a position after Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi received a five place grid penalty as his mechanics had to replace the gearbox following the Italian’s crash in qualifying.

On the weather front, the race will likely to start in the dry but rain is expected after the half of the race.

Race start: Great start for Barrichello. Very aggressive driving from Raikkonen, he passes Sutil. A McLaren has spun. Replays show Raikkonen lost his front wing after contact with the rear of Webber. Collision between Sutil and Trulli. Alonso being hit by Sutil’s car. Safety car deployed. Trulli lost control and hit Sutil. The German then collected Alonso. Trulli, Sutil, Alonso out.

Lap 70/71: Pit stop for Raikkonen, Kovalainen and Hamilton. Koavalainen has tried to exit the pitlane with the fuel hose still attached.

Lap 69/71: Safety car still on track.

Lap 67/71: Barrichello P1, Webber P2, Rosberg P3. Button up to P9, Vettel P11. Safety car in this lap.

Lap 66/71: Kubica overtakes Rosberg for P3. Button passes Grosjean for P8. Grosjean runs wide, Alguersuari passes him.

Lap 65/71: Very aggressive driving from Button: he overtakes Nakajima for P7. Hamilton passes Alguersuari for P12.

Lap 64/71: Button attempts to pass Kobayashi. He fails. Fastest lap for Barrichello. Replays show Vettel running over the grass almost loosing control of the car.

Lap 63/71: Barrichello P1, Webber P2, Kubica P3. Button P7, Vettel P9.

Lap 62/71: Button tries again to pass Kobayashi, the Japanese defends his position well. Kovalainen passes Grosjean for P12.

Lap 61/71: Fastest lap for Webber. Trulli furious at Sutil for their collision.

Lap 59/71: Barrichello still leading the race but he’s unable to pull away from Webber.

Lap 56/71: Race control: pitlane incident involving Kovalainen under investigation by the race stewards.

Lap 55/71: Fastest lap fro Barrichello.

Lap 54/71: Another fastest lap from Barrichello. Webber P2, Kubica P3, Rosberg P4, Buemi P5, Kobayashi P6, Button P7, Nakajima P8. Race control: Incident between Trulli and Sutil will be investigated after the race.

Lap 52/71: Barrichello now leading by 2.5 secs on Webber.

Lap 51/71: Pit stop for Heidfeld. 7.8 secs.

Lap 50/71: Barrichello pits. He rejoins in P8, ahead of Vettel. Vettel passes Barrichello.

Lap 49/71: Hamilton pressuring Barrichello for P10. Heidfeld has stopped by the side of the circuit: he’s out. Kubica pits, he rejoins in P8 ahead of Barrichello.

Lap 47/71: Rosberg and Buemi pit. Button passes Kobayashi for P6.

Lap 45/71: Webber pits from P1, he rejoins ahead of Button. Nakajima pits. Rosberg driving slowly. He pits. Rosberg out.

Lap 43/71: Vettel struggling to pass Kobayashi. Webber P1, Button P2, Kobayashi P3.

Lap 42/71: Button pits: 7.5 secs. Kovalainen too. Button back in P10.

Lap 41/71: Kobayashi pits from P2. Alguersuari pits. Nakajima spins and hits the protective tyre wall. Replays show slight contact between Nakajima and Kobayashi. Nakajima attempted to pass his compatriot, who seemed to move across on his car.

Lap 39/71: Hamilton pressuring Barrichello.

Lap 38/71: Button passes Buemi for P8.

Lap 37/71: Pit stop for Grosjean.

Lap 36/71: Vettel pushing very hard as he heads towards his pit stop.

Lap 35/71: Webber P1, Vettel P2, Kubica P3.

Lap 34/71: Vettel makes his pit stop. Vettel rejoins in P7, behind Button. Fisichella pits.

Lap 33/71: Webber P1, Kubica P2, Barrichello P3. Button P7, Vettel P8.

Lap 32/71: Hamilton pressuring Barrichello for P3.

Lap 29/71: Hamilton pits. He rejoins in P9.

Lap 28/71: Raikkonen pits. The Finn switches to the super soft tyres.

Lap 27/71: Liuzzi pits. Webber in P1, Kubica P2, Barrichello P3, Button P4.

Lap 25/71: Kubica pits from P2. He’s back in P3.

Lap 21/71: Barrichello pits. He’s back in P6. Alguersuari pits.

Lap 19/71: Webber pits from the lead, back in P1.

Lap 18/71: Webber P1, Kubica P2, Button P3, Vettel P4, Buemi P5, Barrichello P6, Hamilton P7, Kobayashi P8. Buemi pits.

Lap 17/71: Button pits from P4. He rejoins in P8.

Lap 15/71: Vettel pits. Kobayashi too. Vettel back in P5.

Lap 12/71: Pit stop for Kovalainen. Button now in P6.

Lap 10/71: Barrichello laments vibration on the right left tyre. Hamilton passes Barrichello for P3.

Lap 9/71: Barrichello being told he has a puncture.

Lap 8/71: Barrichello pits. The Brazilian rejoins in P8. Looks like his title hopes are over.

Lap 5/71: Webber P1, Kubica P2, Hamilton P3.

Lap 4/71: Button being told that there’s a chance for a few drops of rain.

Last lap: Button getting ready to be crowned world champion. Mark Webber takes the chequered flag for first, ahead of Robert Kubica, Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen, Sebastien Buemi and Rubens Barrichello. After ten seasons in F1 Jenson Button has finally made it: he’s the 2009 Formula One world champion with Brawn GP securing also the Constructors’ Championship.

2009 Brazilian Grand Prix, race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 14 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 71 Winner 2 10
2 5 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 71 +7.6 secs 8 8
3 1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 71 +18.9 secs 17 6
4 15 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 71 +19.6 secs 15 5
5 22 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes 71 +29.0 secs 14 4
6 4 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 71 +33.3 secs 5 3
7 12 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 71 +35.9 secs 6 2
8 23 Rubens Barrichello Brawn-Mercedes 71 +45.4 secs 1 1
9 2 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 71 +48.4 secs 16
10 10 Kamui Kobayashi Toyota 71 +63.3 secs 11
11 3 Giancarlo Fisichella Ferrari 71 +70.6 secs 19
12 21 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 71 +71.3 secs 20
13 8 Romain Grosjean Renault 70 +1 Lap 13
14 11 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 70 +1 Lap 12
Ret 17 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 30 Accident 9
Ret 16 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 27 +44 Laps 7
Ret 6 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 21 +50 Laps 18
Ret 20 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 0 Accident 3
Ret 9 Jarno Trulli Toyota 0 Accident 4
Ret 7 Fernando Alonso Renault 0 Accident 10

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply