Alonso leads Ferrari one-two at Hockenheim 

Felipe Massa P2, Sebastian Vettel P3.

Written by David on July 25th, 2010 at 4:00 pmLast Update: July 30th, 2010 at 11:51 am

Fernando AlonsoDouble world champion Fernando Alonso has won the 2010 edition of the German Grand Prix – this year at the Hockenheim circuit – ahead of team mate Felipe Massa, securing the second one-two finish in the season for Ferrari.

Third place for Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel, ahead of McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button, Mark Webber, Renault’s Robert Kubica, Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, Michael Schumacher and Renault’s Vitaly Petrov.

UPDATE: Shortly after the Grand Prix, Ferrari’s Team Principal and team manager were summoned by the race stewards over the team order controversy. An hour later, the stewards fined Ferrari $100,000 and the matter will be referred to the WMSC for breaking Article 39.1 (team orders) and Article 151c (bringing sport into disrepute).

2010 German Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Local hero Sebastian Vettel starts from pole position ahead of Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso. Third place on the Hockenheim grid for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa, fourth for Mark Webber, fifth for reigning world champion Jenson Button and sixth for Lewis Hamilton. Position seven for Robert Kubica, eight for Rubens Barrichello, nine for Nico Rosberg in the Mercedes, ten for Nico Hulkenberg and eleven for seven time world champion Michael Schumacher.

Race start: Lights go off..Massa first into Turn 1. Alonso in P2, Vettel P3. Webber P4, Hamilton P5.

Lap 2/67: Sutil, Liuzzi, Buemi and Alguersuari all pit. Buemi retires.

Lap 3/67: Trulli running slowly on the track. Replays show Alguersuari hitting Buemi’s rear end.

Lap 4/67: Trulli being wheeled back into the garage.

Lap 5/67: Massa first followed by Alonso, Vettel, Hamilton, Webber, Button, Kubica and Schumacher. Sutil makes another pit stop.

Lap 6/67: Liuzzi pits. Trulli back on track but running slowly again.

Lap 8/67: Trulli pits again and retires after a gearbox failure.

Lap 9/67: Massa P1, has a +1.5s gap to team mate Alonso.

Lap 10/67: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:18.965.

Lap 11/67: Fastest lap for Massa: 1:18.915.

Lap 13/67: Vettel pits from P3. He rejoins in P6.

Lap 14/67: Alonso pits from P2. Webber pits from P4. Webber rejoins in ninth. Alonso in fourth.

Lap 15/67: Massa pits from P1. Hamilton pits. Massa rejoins in P3. Schumacher and Barrichello pit.

Lap 16/67: Kobayashi pits from P10. Alonso pressuring Massa for P2.

Lap 18/67: Kubica pits from P8. Button leading the race but he still has to pit. Kubica rejoins in P11, ahead of Schumacher.

Lap 19/67: Button P1, Massa P2, Alonso P3, Vettel P4, Hamilton P5, Rosberg P6, Webber P7, Petrov P8.

Lap 20/67: Vettel P4, is closing rapidly on the two Ferraris.

Lap 21/67: Massa and Alonso battling for P2.

Lap 23/67: Button pits from P1. He rejoins in fifth.

Lap 24/67: Fastest lap for Massa: 1:18.711. Massa P1, Alonso P2, Vettel P3. Petrov pits from P8.

Lap 25/67: Another fastest lap for Massa: 1:18.646. Rosberg has pitted from P7. Rosberg rejoins in P10, ahead of Schumacher.

Lap 26/67: Kovalainen pits from P17.

Lap 27/67: Fastest lap for Massa: 1:18.560. Massa has a +3s gap to the Spaniard.

Lap 28/67: Another fastest lap for Massa: 1:18.399.

Lap 29/67: Alonso sets a 1:18.075. Alguersuari pressuring Sutil for P15.

Lap 31/67: Massa clocks a 1:17.991, fastest lap so far.

Lap 32/67: 1:17.751 for Fernando Alonso.

Lap 35/67: de la Rosa passes Hulkenberg for P7. Hulkenberg makes his first pit stop. Meanwhile the gap between Massa and Alonso is coming down, now 2.3s.

Lap 36/67: Sutil pits for the third time.

Lap 37/67: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:17.666. Massa P1, Alonso P2, Vettel P3, Hamilton P4, Button P5, Webber P6, de la Rosa P7, Kubica P8, Rosberg P9, Schumacher P10.

Lap 38/67: 1:17.495 for Alonso.

Lap 39/67: de la Rosa, Di Grassi and Glock, have yet to pit.

Lap 41/67: Sutil sets the fastest lap from P17: 1:17.300.

Lap 42/67: Senna pits from P21.

Lap 43/67: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:17.242.

Lap 45/67: Vettel clocks another fastest lap: 1:17.122.

Lap 46/67: Webber being told over the radio he has an oil consumption problem.

Lap 48/67: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:17.012. Massa being told over the radio that Alonso is faster than him. “Alonso is faster than you. Can you confirm you understood the message?”, said Massa’s engineer, Rob Smedley.

Lap 49/67: Massa lets Alonso pass. Alonso P1, Massa P2. There is going to be a controversy…Article 39.1 of the Sporting Regulations states that team orders are prohibited.

Lap 52/67: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:16.669.

Lap 53/67: de la Rosa makes his first pit stop.

Lap 55/67: di Grassi being wheeled into the garage, he retires.

Lap 56/67: Fastest lap for race leader Alonso: 1:16.625.

Lap 57/67: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:16.536. Alonso P1, Massa P2, Vettel P3, Hamilton P4, Button P5, Webber P6, Kubica P7.

Lap 58/67: Vettel just 1.5s to Massa.

Lap 60/67: de la Rosa pits for a new front wing after a collision with Kovalainen.

Lap 61/67: Vettel now pressuring Massa for P2. Kovalainen pits and retires.

Lap 66/67: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:15.880.

Last lap: Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso wins the 2010 German Grand Prix at the Hockenheim circuit ahead of team-mate Felipe Massa. Third place for local hero Sebastian Vettel, fourth for Lewis Hamilton, fifth for Jenson Button, sixth for Mark Webber, seventh for Robert Kubica, eighth for Nico Rosberg, ninth for Michael Schumacher and tenth for Vitaly Petrov.

2010 German Grand Prix race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 67 Winner 2 25
2 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 67 +4.1 secs 3 18
3 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 67 +5.1 secs 1 15
4 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 67 +26.8 secs 6 12
5 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 67 +29.4 secs 5 10
6 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 67 +43.6 secs 4 8
7 11 Robert Kubica Renault 66 +1 Lap 7 6
8 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 66 +1 Lap 9 4
9 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 66 +1 Lap 11 2
10 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 66 +1 Lap 13 1
11 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari +1 Lap 12
12 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth +1 Lap 8
13 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth +1 Lap 10
14 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari +1 Lap 14
15 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari +1 Lap 15
16 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes +2 Lap 21
17 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes +2 Lap 19
18 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth +3 Lap 23
19 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth +4 Lap 20
Ret 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth +11 Lap 18
Ret 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth +17 Lap 24
Ret 20 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth +48 Laps 22
Ret 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth +64 Laps 17
Ret 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari +66 Laps 16

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply