2008 Hungarian Grand Prix: lap by lap highlights 

Written by David on August 04th, 2008 at 6:33 amLast Update: August 04th, 2008 at 6:33 am

2008 Hungarian Grand PrixLap 1: On pole position for the 10th time in his F1 career, Lewis Hamilton leads initially but Felipe Massa, starting from third on the grid, sweeps around the outside to take the lead at Turn One. Heikki Kovalainen lies third from Timo Glock, Robert Kubica, Fernando Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen, Mark Webber, Jarno Trulli, Nelson Piquet (passed by Trulli during the lap), David Coulthard (who runs wide at Turn Two), Nick Heidfeld, Rubens Barrichello, Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, Sébastien Bourdais, Nico Rosberg, Kazuki Nakajima, Giancarlo Fisichella and Adrian Sutil. Massa leads by 1.3s.

Lap 2: Hamilton reduces his arrears to 0.9s.

Lap 3: Hamilton laps in 1m22.617s to recover another tenth. Button passes Barrichello. Vettel runs wide at Turn 14.

Lap 4: Massa laps in 1m22.399s and leads by 1.1s.

Lap 6: Massa leads by 1.7s. Vettel runs wide at Turn 11.

Lap 7: Massa posts a 1m22.059s and extends his advantage to 1.9s.

Lap 10: Massa sets a new best – 1m21.860s – to lead Hamilton by 2.8s and Kovalainen by 7.8s.

Lap 12: Massa improves again, to 1m21.479s. Hamilton laps in 1m21.606s – a personal best.

Lap 15: Massa laps in 1m21.414s, Hamilton in 1m21.493s. The gap is 3.0s.

Lap 16: Massa continues to up his pace: 1m21.355s.

Lap 18: Massa pits and rejoins fourth, ahead of Alonso. Kubica and Webber refuel, too.

Lap 19: Hamilton pits and slips to sixth.

Lap 20: Kovalainen leads. Glock and Vettel pit.

Lap 21: Kovalainen pits. Massa leads again.

Lap 22: Alonso and Raikkonen pit. Alonso rejoins just ahead of the Finn.

Lap 24: Massa leads by 3.1s from Hamilton. Trulli pits – as does the now lapped Vettel. The Toro Rosso is pushed into its garage.

Lap 26: Piquet pits from his third place. He rejoins eighth, behind Raikkonen.

Lap 29: Coulthard and Fisichella pit. The Scot rejoins just ahead of Barrichello.

Lap 30: Rosberg and Sutil pit.

Lap 31: Button and Bourdais pit. Bourdais suffers a quick flash-fire that is rapidly extinguished.

Lap 32: Barrichello and Nakajima pit. Barrichello also has a quick flash-fire.

Lap 35: Half-distance. Massa leads Hamilton by 4.0s. Kovalainen, Glock, Alonso, Raikkonen, Piquet and Trulli run third to eighth.

Lap 41: Hamilton runs wide at Turn Five, slows down and pits. He has a punctured front left tyre. He rejoins 10th. Heidfeld makes his first stop.

Lap 44: Massa, leading by 23.6s, pits. He rejoins second, between Kovalainen and Glock.

Lap 45: Sutil and Bourdais pit.

Lap 46: Bourdais pits again.

Lap 47: Glock and Webber pit.

Lap 48: Kovalainen pits. Massa leads again.

Lap 50: Raikkonen runs wide at Turn Two. Alonso and Kubica pit. Fisichella and Rosberg pass Nakajima.

Lap 51: Raikkonen pits.

Lap 52: Massa leads Kovalainen by 15.4s. Button pits.

Lap 53: Trulli and Coulthard pit, as does Barrichello.

Lap 54: Kovalainen reduces his arrears to 14.4s. Piquet pits and rejoins alongside Trulli. The Brazilian wins their battle through Turn One.

Lap 55: Fisichella pits.

Lap 56: Massa leads by 12.6s.

Lap 58: Rosberg pits.

Lap 59: Glock runs wide at Turn Four. Raikkonen sets fastest lap: 1m21.267s.

Lap 60: Kovalainen trails by 9.8s. Sutil pits. He rejoins for a couple of laps and then pulls in to retire.

Lap 61: Raikkonen laps in 1m21.195s. He trails Glock by 4.2s.

Lap 65: Massa leads by 7.2s. Glock is only 0.8s ahead of Raikkonen.

Lap 68: Massa’s engine blows just after he crosses the start/finish line. Kovalainen leads.

Lap 70: Kovalainen scores his maiden F1 win, 11.0s clear of Glock. Raikkonen is third from Alonso, Hamilton, Piquet, Trulli and Kubica.

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply