Webber takes dominant win at Silverstone 

Hamilton P2, podium finish for Rosberg.

Written by David on July 11th, 2010 at 3:56 pmLast Update: July 23rd, 2010 at 11:43 am

Mark WebberRed Bull’s Mark Webber took another dominant win – the third in the season – at Silverstone ahead of local hero Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg.

Reigning world champion Jenson Button finished fourth ahead of Rubens Barrichello (P5), Kamui Kobayashi (P6), Sebastian Vettel (P7), Adrian Sutil (P8), Michael Schumacher (P9) and Nico Hulkenberg (P10).

2010 British Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel starts from pole position ahead of team mate Mark Webber. Third place on the grid for Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso, fourth for local hero Lewis Hamilton, fifth for Nico Rosberg and sixth for Robert Kubica. Position seven for Felipe Massa, eight for Rubens Barrichello, nine for Pedro de la Rosa in the Sauber and ten for Michael Schumacher. Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi, qualified 15th but was penalised with a 5-place grid penalty after qualifying for impeding.

Race start: Great start for Hamilton who takes P3 from Alonso. Webber takes the lead, Vettel P2 but goes wide after a puncture. Alonso down in P6. Bad start for the Spaniard who lost several positions.

Lap 2/52: Massa pits after a puncture. Vettel pits. Webber in P1, Hamilton in P2, Kubica P3, Rosberg P4, Alonso P5.

Lap 3/52: Button now in P8; the Briton took the start from P14.

Lap 5/52: Alonso now pressuring Rosberg for P4.

Lap 6/52: Webber P1 and Hamilton P2, have a +8.0 secs gap from Kubica P3.

Lap 7/52: Webber P1, Hamilton P2, Kubica P3, Rosberg P4, Alonso P5. Massa P23, Vettel P24.

Lap 10/52: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:36.258. Di Grassi pits and retires. Massa passes the two HRTs, he’s now in P20.

Lap 12/52: Schumacher pits from P10. He rejoins in P15.

Lap 13/52: Alonso and Barrichello pit. Kobayashi too.

Lap 14/52: Fastest lap for Hamilton: 1:35.598. Kubica and de la Rosa pit.

Lap 15/52: Fastest lap for Rosberg: 1:35.574.

Lap 16/52: Rosberg pits from P3. Sutil and Petrov also pit.

Lap 17/52: Hamilton pits from P2. Buemi pits. Webber P1, Hamilton P2, Button P3, Hulkenberg P4, Alguersuari P5. Webber pits from P1, he rejoins in P1.

Lap 18/52: Alonso has passed Kubica for P7.

Lap 19/52: Alonso passes Alguersuari for P6.

Lap 20/52: Kubica lapping slowly. The Pole pits and retires.

Lap 22/52: Button pits from P3. He rejoins in P6.

Lap 24/52: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:34.619. Vettel P19.

Lap 27/52: de le Rosa has lost pieces off his rear wing. Drive through penalty for Alonso for cutting the chicane and gaining an advantage.

Lap 28/52: Hulkenberg pits and rejoins in P11. Safety car deployed: debris on track.

Lap 29/52: Alguersuari pits. Alonso being informed that he will have to take the drive through penalty after the safety car comes in. de la Rosa retires.

Lap 30/52: Safety car in this lap.

Lap 31/52: Alonso serves his drive through penalty: he’s now in P16. Webber P1, Hamilton P2, Rosberg P3, Button P4, Barrichello P5, Kobayashi P6, Schumacher P7, Sutil P8.

Lap 33/52: Sutil overtakes Schumacher for P7.

Lap 34/52: Alonso overtakes Buemi for P15.

Lap 36/52: Vettel now in P11, closing in on Petrov P10.

Lap 38/52: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:32.990. Replays show Petrov running wide, with Vettel gaining a position. Vettel now in P10.

Lap 39/52: Vettel passes Hulkenberg for P9, now chasing Schumacher.

Lap 40/52: Massa pits with a flat spotted tyre.

Lap 41/52: Vettel overtakes Schumacher for P8.

Lap 43/52: Fastest lap for Hamilton: 1:32.793.

Lap 44/52: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:32.655. Webber P1, Hamilton P2, Rosberg P3, Button P4, Barrichello P5, Kobayashi P6, Sutil P7, Vettel P8, Schumacher P9, Hulkenberg P10. Alonso P13, Massa P16.

Lap 46/52: Fastest lap for Webber: 1:32.364. Alguersuari has gone off, in the gravel: he’s out.

Lap 50/52: Alonso pits after a puncture.

Last lap: Vettel passes Sutil for P7. Mark Webber wins the 2010 edition of the British Grand Prix ahead of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg. Fourth place for reigning world champion Jenson Button, fifth for Rubens Barrichello, sixth for Kamui Kobayashi, seventh for Sebastian Vettel, eighth for Adrian Sutil, ninth for Michael Schumacher and tenth for Nico Hulkenberg. Eleventh place for Tonio Liuzzi followed by Sebastien Buemi, Vitaly Petrov, Fernando Alonso, Felipe Massa, Jarno Trulli, Heikki Kovalainen, Timo Glock, Karun Chandhok and Sakon Yamamoto.

2010 British Grand Prix, Race Results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 52 Winner 2 25
2 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 52 +1.3 secs 4 18
3 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 52 +21.3 secs 5 15
4 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 52 +21.9 secs 14 12
5 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 52 +31.4 secs 8 10
6 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 52 +32.1 secs 12 8
7 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 52 +36.7 secs 1 6
8 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 52 +40.9 secs 11 4
9 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 52 +41.5 secs 10 2
10 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 52 +42.0 secs 13 1
11 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 52 +42.4 secs 20
12 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 52 +47.6 secs 16
13 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 52 +59.3 secs 15
14 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 52 +62.3 secs 3
15 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 52 +67.4 secs 7
16 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 51 +1 Lap 21
17 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 51 +1 Lap 18
18 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 50 +2 Lap 19
19 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 50 +2 Lap 23
20 21 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 50 +2 Lap 24
Ret 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 54 +8 Lap 17
Ret 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 29 +23 Laps 9
Ret 11 Robert Kubica Renault 19 +33 Laps 6
Ret 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 9 +43 Laps 22

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply