Vettel and Webber secure Red Bull one-two at Sepang 

First podium finish for Mercedes GP with Nico Rosberg

Written by David on April 04th, 2010 at 12:21 pmLast Update: April 13th, 2010 at 11:23 am

Sebastian VettelRed Bull’s Sebastian Vettel took his first win in the season at the 2010 Malaysian Grand Prix ahead of team-mate Mark Webber, handing a dominant one-two finish to Red Bull Racing.

Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg finished third securing the first points for Mercedes GP. Fourth place for Renault’s Robert Kubica, fifth for Force India’s Adrian Sutil, sixth for McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton, seventh for Ferrari’s Felipe Massa, eighth for McLaren’s Jenson Button, ninth for Toro Rosso’s Jaime Alguersuari and tenth for Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg.

2010 Malaysian Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Red Bull’s Mark Webber starts from pole position ahead of Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg. Behind the two, there’s Sebastian Vettel and Force India’s Adrian Sutil. Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg starts fifth ahead of Renault’s Robert Kubica, Williams’ Rubens Barrichello, Mercedes GP’s Michael Schumacher and Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi. Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso will start 19th, McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton 20th and Felipe Massa 21st after their disastrous qualifying. Sauber’s de la Rosa won’t race after a suspected engine failure on his lap to the grid.

Race start: Great start for Vettel who takes P1. Hamilton P12, Massa P14.

Lap 4/56: Hamilton passes Kobayashi for P10. Glock has gone off into the gravel he’s out.

Lap 6/56: Vettel leads followed by Webber, Rosberg, Kubica. Schumacher P6, Hamilton P10.

Lap 7/56: Hamilton passes Petrov for P9.

Lap 9/56: Button passes Alonso for P15. Kobayashi out.

Lap 10/56: Button pits. Schumacher stops at the side of the track, he’s out.

Lap 11/56: Vettel P1, Webber P2, Rosberg P3, Kubica P4, Sutil P5, Hulkenberg P6. Hamilton overtakes Liuzzi for P7.

Lap 13/56: Kovalainen pits after a puncture. Liuzzi running slowly.

Lap 14/56: Hulkenberg and Petrov pit. Liuzzi pits.

Lap 15/56: Buemi pits. Liuzzi retires.

Lap 16/56: Vettel in the lead, followed by Webber, Rosberg, Kubica, Sutil, Hamilton, Alguersuari, Massa, Alonso, Button.

Lap 17/56: Bruno Senna pits.

Lap 19/56: Fastest lap for Vettel. Kovalainen pits. Kovalainen retires.

Lap 20/56: Alguersuari pits.

Lap 21/56: Sutil pits from P5. Alguersuari pressuring Petrov for P11.

Lap 22/56: Pit stop for Kubica.Alguersuari passes Petrov for P11.

Lap 23/56: Rosberg pits from P3. Massa P6, Alonso P7.

Lap 24/56: Vettel pits. Vettel rejoins in P2, ahead of Hamilton.

Lap 25/56: Webber pits. Webber back in P3.

Lap 26/56: Vettel leads ahead of Hamilton, Webber, Rosberg, Kubica, Massa, Alonso and Sutil.

Lap 27/56: Massa pits from P7. Massa rejoins in P9.

Lap 28/56: di Grassi pits from P15.

Lap 30/56: Massa clocks the fastest lap. Massa currently in P9. Button P8.

Lap 31/56: Hamilton pits. Hamilton rejoins in P7 ahead of team-mate Button. Alguersuari passes Hulkenberg for P10. Alonso yet to pit.

Lap 32/56: Vettel P1, Webber P2, Rosberg P3, Kubica P4.

Lap 33/56: Fastest lap for Hamilton.

Lap 34/56: Petrov out.

Lap 35/56: Hamilton pressuring Sutil for P6. Buemi pits from P12.

Lap 36/56: Massa tailing Button for P8.

Lap 37/56: Alonso pits. Alonso rejoins in P9.

Lap 39/56: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:37.633.

Lap 40/56: Sutil P5, Hamilton P6, Button P7, Massa P8, Alonso P9, Alguersuari P10, Hulkenberg P11, Barrichello P12, Buemi P13, di Grassi P14, Trulli P15, Chandhok P16, Senna P17.

Lap 42/56: Another fastest lap for Alonso: 1:37.231

Lap 43/56: Massa still tailing Button for P7. Buemi makes it past Barrichello for P12.

Lap 44/56: Massa passes Button for P7. Now Alonso tailing Button.

Lap 45/56: Alonso pressuring Button for P8. Barrichello pits from P13.

Lap 49/56: Massa closing in to Hamilton for P6.

Lap 53/56: Alonso pressuring Button for P8.

Lap 55/56: Alonso out: engine failure for the Spaniard after attempting to pass Button for P8.

Last lap: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel takes the first win in the season at the 2010 Malaysian Grand Prix. Team-mate Mark Webber finishes second securing a one two finish for Red Bull Racing. Nico Rosberg takes a podium finish handing the first points to Mercedes GP ahead of Renault’s Robert Kubica, Force India’s Adrian Sutil, McLaren’s Jenson Button, Toro Rosso’s Jaime Alguersuari and Williams’ Nico Hulkenberg

2010 Malaysian Grand Prix, Race Results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 56 Winner 3 25
2 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 56 +4.8 secs 1 18
3 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 56 +13.5 secs 2 15
4 11 Robert Kubica Renault 56 +18.5 secs 6 12
5 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 56 +21.0 secs 4 10
6 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 56 +23.4 secs 20 8
7 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 56 +27.0 secs 21 6
8 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 56 +37.9 secs 17 4
9 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 56 +70.6 secs 14 2
10 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 56 +73.3 secs 5 1
11 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 56 +78.9 secs 13
12 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 55 +1 Lap 7
13 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 54 +2 Laps 19
14 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 53 +3 Laps 24
15 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 53 +3 Laps 22
16 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 52 +4 Laps 23
17 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 51 +5 Laps 18
Ret 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 46 +10 Laps 15
Ret 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 32 +24 Laps 11
Ret 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 12 +44 Laps 10
Ret 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 9 +47 Laps 8
Ret 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 8 +48 Laps 9
Ret 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 2 +54 Laps 16
Ret 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 0 +56 Laps 12

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply