Kimi Raikkonen leads Ferrari one-two in 2008 Spanish GP 

Written by David on April 27th, 2008 at 4:06 pmLast Update: April 27th, 2008 at 7:14 pm

Kimi RaikkonenKimi Raikkoknen has won today the 2008 Spanish Grand Prix at Circuit de Catalunya in Spain in what was Scuderia Ferrari’s second consecutive one-two this season. In fact, his teammate Felipe Massa finished on second place, ahead of McLaren-Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton (3rd). Robert Kubica finished fourth, Mark Webber fifth, Jenson Button sixth, Kazuki Nakajima seventh, and Jarno Trulli eighth.

Big accident for McLaren’s Heikki Kovalainen who, following a problem on his front left tyre on lap 22, lost completely control of the car (Turn 9) and hit violently the barriers; his condition has been described ‘stable’ by the race medics but for precaution he was taken to a Barcelona hospital for further checks.

Renault’s Fernando Alonso had an engine failure on lap 33 and was forced to retire from the race.

Race report:

Most of the teams have opted for soft tyres. On race start Kimi Raikkonen keeps P1 while Felipe Massa overtakes Alonso and gains P2. Hamilton follows on P4 ahead of Robert Kubica and Heikki Kovalainen. Collision at Turn 4 between Force India’s Adrian Sutil and Toro Rosso’s Sebastian Vettel; the Safety Car takes the track.

After two laps behind the Safety Car, the race resumes and Raikkonen increases his gap from his teammate; the Finn leads the race by 1.3 seconds. On lap 5, Nelson Piquet jr makes a steering error and ends on the gravel. The Brazilian, heads back on the track on P18 but two laps later, he collides with Sebastien Bourdais and he’s forced to retire; the Frenchman manages to get to the pits but his suspension is now damaged.

On lap 17, Fernando Alonso enters the pitlane for a 9.3 second pit stop. The Spaniard rejoins the race on P11.

Pit stop on lap 20 for Felipe Massa and on lap 21 for Kimi Raikkonen. Hamilton and Kubica enter the pits as well and Heikki Kovalainen leads the race. A couple of turns later, Kovalainen’s front tyre suddenly deflates; the Finn looses control of the car at Turn 9 and goes straight into the tyre barriers. The Safety Car and the Medical Car take immediately the track. The initial indications are that Heikki has escaped injury.

On lap 24, BMW’s Nick Heidfeld is forced to enter the pits while the pitlane is closed as he is running out of fuel. A couple of laps later, race control, announces a stop and go penalty for him. In the meantime, Barrichello touched Fisichella’s VJM01 upon leaving the pitlane and broke his front wing.

The race resumes on lap 28 with Raikkonen still on P1 followed by Massa on P2. On lap 33 Alonso is forced to retire for an engine failure. At the same time, Barrichello’s race also comes to an end and 4 laps later, Rosberg’s engine blows off.

During the next 10 laps, all drivers come in for their last stop.

On lap 54 while fighting for P9 Glock hits David Coulthard’s rear left wheel: the German has to replace his front wing while the Scot his rear left tyre. A lap later, Heidfeld overtakes Fisichella and gets P9.

Positions remain unchanged until the end of the race. Raikkonen wins the 2008 Spanish Grand Prix and Scuderia Ferrari completes again a one-two.

2008 Spanish Grand Prix Race Results:

Pos No Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid Pts
1 1 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 66 Winner 1 10
2 2 Felipe Massa Ferrari 66 +3.2 secs 3 8
3 22 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 66 +4.1 secs 5 6
4 4 Robert Kubica BMW Sauber 66 +5.6 secs 4 5
5 10 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 66 +35.9 secs 7 4
6 16 Jenson Button Honda 66 +53.0 secs 13 3
7 8 Kazuki Nakajima Williams-Toyota 66 +58.2 secs 12 2
8 11 Jarno Trulli Toyota 66 +59.4 secs 8 1
9 3 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber 66 +63.0 secs 9  
10 21 Giancarlo Fisichella Force India-Ferrari 65 +1 Lap 19  
11 12 Timo Glock Toyota 65 +1 Lap 14  
12 9 David Coulthard Red Bull-Renault 65 +1 Lap 17  
13 18 Takuma Sato Super Aguri-Honda 65 +1 Lap 22  
Ret 7 Nico Rosberg Williams-Toyota 41 Mechanical 15  
Ret 5 Fernando Alonso Renault 34 Engine 2  
Ret 17 Rubens Barrichello Honda 34 +32 Laps 11  
Ret 23 Heikki Kovalainen McLaren-Mercedes 21 Accident 6  
Ret 19 Anthony Davidson Super Aguri-Honda 8 +58 Laps 21  
Ret 14 Sebastien Bourdais STR-Ferrari 7 Accident 16  
Ret 6 Nelsinho Piquet Renault 6 Accident 10  
Ret 20 Adrian Sutil Force India-Ferrari 0 Accident 20  
Ret 15 Sebastian Vettel STR-Ferrari 0 Accident 18  

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply