Fernando Alonso takes Singapore GP win 

Vettel second, Webber third.

Written by David on September 26th, 2010 at 4:21 pmLast Update: October 08th, 2010 at 4:43 am

Fernando AlonsoFerrari’s Fernando Alonso took his second consecutive Grand Prix win in the season at the 2010 edition of the Singapore Grand Prix.

Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber finished second a third respectively ahead of fourth placed Jenson Button, fifth Nico Rosberg, sixth Rubens Barrichello, seventh Robert Kubica, eighth Nico Hulkenberg**, ninth Felipe Massa and tenth Adrian Sutil*.

2008 world champion Lewis Hamilton failed to finish the Grand Prix for the second consecutive time after a collision with Mark Webber during the race.

*UPDATE: Adrian Sutil has been penalised by the Singapore GP stewards with a 20-second penalty for gaining an advantage by racing around the outside of Turn 7 on the first lap of the race. Therefore Nico Hulkenberg moves up to eighth and Felipe Massa to ninth.

**UPDATE 2: Nico Hulkenberg has also been penalised with a 20-second penalty and drops to tenth place. Adrian Sutil moves in ninth and Felipe Massa in eighth.

2010 Singapore Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Fernando Alonso starts from pole position for the second time in the season ahead of Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel. Third place on the grid for Lewis Hamilton in the McLaren, fourth for Jenson Button, fifth for Red Bull’s Mark Webber and sixth for Williams’ Rubens Barrichello. Position seven for Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, eight for Renault’s Robert Kubica, nine for Michael Schumacher and ten for Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi. Felipe Massa starts from the back of the grid after a gearbox failure during Saturday’s Q1 qualifying session. The pitlane has closed ahead of the race start procedure, with Jaime Alguersuari still in the pit garage. The Spaniard will have to start the race from the pitlane.

Race start: Lights go off at Marina Bay! Alonso keeps the lead, Vettel P2. Hamilton P3, Button P4.

Lap 2/61: Massa pits and swaps tyres. Liuzzi has damaged the rear suspension after making contact with the barriers.

Lap 3/61: Safety car deployed to remove Liuzzi’s car.

Lap 4/61: Webber pits along with other ten drivers for a tyre change. Alonso P1, Vettel P2, Hamilton P3, Button P4.

Lap 5/61: Massa is up to 15th after taking the start from P23. Kubica P6, Barrichello P7, Schumacher P8, Kobayashi P9, Glock P10, Webber P11. The Safety Car leaves the track.

Lap 6/61: Webber passes Glock for P10. Puncture for Trulli in the Lotus.

Lap 7/61: Webber makes it past Kobayashi. The Australian is now in P9. Trulli made it to the pits for a new set of tyres.

Lap 8/61: Alonso still in the lead ahead of Vettel, Hamilton, Button, Rosberg, Kubica, Barrichello, Schumacher and Webber. Massa in P14.

Lap 11/61: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:52.625. Vettel being advised over the team radio to cool down the brakes. Webber passes Schumacher for P8.

Lap 12/61: Another fastest lap for Alonso: 1:52.160.

Lap 15/61: Alonso now has a 2.5 seconds lead to Vettel. Fastest lap for Vettel, 1:52.023. Sutil passes Glock for P11.

Lap 16/61: Hulkenberg and Massa overtake Glock.

Lap 17/61: Sutil P11, Hulkenberg P12, Massa P13.

Lap 19/61: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:51.317. Alonso’s lead to Vettel is now at 3.4 seconds.

Lap 21/61: Alonso P1, Vettel P2, Hamilton P3, Button P4, Rosberg P5, Kubica P6, Barrichello P7, Webber P8, Schumacher P9, Kobayashi P10.

Lap 23/61: Replays show Webber almost hitting the barriers while braking at turn 18.

Lap 27/61: Kobayashi pressuring Schumacher for P9.

Lap 28/61: Trulli pits and retires.

Lap 29/61: Alonso’s lead now down to 1.8 after some traffic for the Spaniard. Hamilton pits from P4 and rejoins in P8. Webber in P7.

Lap 30/61: Alonso and Vettel pit. Alonso keeps the lead, Vettel P2. Button pits.

Lap 31/61: Rosberg pits from P4. Schumacher pits from P15.

Lap 32/61: Vettel now pressuring Alonso for P1. Safety car deployed. Kobayashi and Senna crashed into the barriers at Turn 18.

Lap 33/61: Kubica and Barrichello pit. Klien pits and retires in the HRT.

Lap 34/61: Alonso P1, Vettel P2, Webber P3, Hamilton P4, Button P5.

Lap 35/61: Kovalainen pits. Safety car in this lap.

Lap 36/61: Hamilton tries to pass Webber but they collide. Hamilton out. The incident between the two is under investigation by the race stewards.

Lap 37/61: Replays show Schumacher and Heidfeld making contact. Heidfeld retires, Schumacher pits for a new front wing.

Lap 40/61: Alonso leading the race with Vettel in P2, Webber in P3. Button P4, Rosberg P5, Kubica P6, Barrichello P7, Sutil P8, Hulkenberg P9, Massa P10.

Lap 41/61: Alonso has a 1.4 second lead to Vettel.

Lap 43/61: Di Grassi pits from the back of the grid.

Lap 45/61: Fastest lap for Vettel: 1:48.920.

Lap 46/61: Kubica pits for a new set of tyres.

Lap 47/61: Fastest lap for Alonso, 1:48.867. Race control: no further action for the Webber-Hamilton incident.

Lap 51/61: Ten laps remaining: Alonso P1, Vettel P2, Webber P3.

Lap 52/61: Kubica pressuring Buemi for P11. The Pole makes it past Buemi for P11. Glock pits and retires in the Virgin.

Lap 53/61: Kubica passes Petrov for P10. Buemi pits.

Lap 54/61: Kubica overtakes Massa for P9.

Lap 55/61: Kubica overtakes Hulkenberg for P8. Next target for the Pole, Sutil. Kubica now in P7 after overtaking Sutil.

Lap 58/61: Alonso P1 with a 0.9 second lead to Vettel.

Lap 59/61: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:47.976.

Lap 60/61: Kovalainen’s Lotus is on fire on the main straight.

Last lap: Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso takes his second consecutive victory in the season at the Singapore Grand Prix. Second place for Sebastian Vettel, third for Mark Webber, fourth for Jenson Button, fifth for Nico Rosberg, sixth for Rubens Barrichello, seventh for Robert Kubica, eighth for Adrian Sutil, nine for Nico Hulkenberg and ten for Felipe Massa.

2010 Singapore Grand Prix, Revised Race Results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 61 1:57:53.579 1 25
2 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 61 +0.2 secs 2 18
3 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 61 +29.1 secs 5 15
4 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 61 +30.3 secs 4 12
5 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 61 +49.3 secs 7 10
6 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 61 +56.1 secs 6 8
7 11 Robert Kubica Renault 61 +86.5 secs 8 6
8 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 61 +113.3 secs 24 4
9 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 61 +122.4 secs 15 2
10 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 61 +132.8 secs 17 1
11 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 60 +1 Lap 12
12 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 60 +1 Lap 11
13 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 60 +1 Lap 9
14 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 60 +1 Lap 13
15 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 59 +2 Laps 20
16 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 58 +3 Laps 19
Ret 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 49 Hydraulics 18
Ret 22 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber-Ferrari 36 Accident 14
Ret 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 35 Accident 3
Ret 20 Christian Klien HRT-Cosworth 31 Hydraulics 22
Ret 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 30 Accident 10
Ret 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 29 Accident 23
Ret 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 27 Hydraulics 21
Ret 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1 Accident damage 16

Image © Bridgestone

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply