Alonso leads Ferrari one two in Bahrain 

Podium finish for Lewis Hamilton

Written by David on March 14th, 2010 at 4:24 pmLast Update: March 26th, 2010 at 5:32 am

Fernando AlonsoFernando Alonso started his Ferrari career in the best way by winning the first race of the season – the 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix – ahead of team-mate Felipe Massa, handing to Scuderia Ferrari yet another one-two finish in its history.

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton finished third ahead of Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel who was unfortunate to loose the lead to Alonso after an exhaust failure on his Red Bull RB6.

Fifth and sixth place respectively for the two Mercedes GPs, with Nico Rosberg beating team-mate Michael Schumacher.

Seventh place for reigning world champion Jenson Button, ahead of Red Bull’s Mark Webber, Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi and Williams’ Rubens Barrichello.

Lotus Racing made it to the end with both cars, despite an hydraulic failure for Trulli in the final laps, while both HRT’s and both Virgin Racing’s failed to do so.

2010 Bahrain Grand Prix, lap by lap highlights:

Formation lap: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel starts from pole ahead of Ferrari’s Felipe Massa and Fernando Alonso. Both Ferrari drivers will start with a new engine as the team replaced them for precaution. McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton starts fourth ahead of Mercedes GP’s Nico Rosberg, Mark Webber, Michael Schumacher, reigning world champion Jenson Button, Rosbert Kubica and Adrian Sutil. Both HRT F1 drivers, Bruno Senna and Karun Chandhok, will take the start from the pitlane.

Race start: Great start from Vettel, keeps P1. Alonso in P2. Trouble for Webber who gets down to p8. His tyre smoked very badly.

Lap 2/49: Chandhok out. The Indian has lost the front wing.

Lap 3/49: Replays show contact between Kubica and Sutil at the start. Di Grassi out, he parks his Virgin in the runoff area.

Lap 4/49: Hulkenberg pits. Vettel P1, Alonso P2, Massa P3.

Lap 5/49: Sutil passes Kovalainen for P17.

Lap 6/49: Hamilton pushing on Rosberg for P4.

Lap 7/49: Vettel P1 has 2.5 secs to Alonso, P2.

Lap 8/49: Liuzzi P9, laments heavy understeer. Webber tailing Schumacher for P6.

Lap 9/49: Fastest lap for Massa.

Lap 10/49: de la Rosa overtakes team-mate Kobayashi for P12.

Lap 11/49: Vettel still in the lead followed by Alonso, Massa, Rosberg, Hamilton and Schumacher. Fsetst lap for Vettel.

Lap 12/49: Senna pits.

Lap 13/49: Kubica pits. He rejoins in P16.

Lap 14/49: Petrov and Alguersuari pit. The Russian has problems with the front suspension on his Renault.

Lap 15/49: de la Rosa pits. Petrov retires.

Lap 16/49: Schumacher and Hamilton pit. Sutil pits. Schumacher now in P10. No pit stop yet for race leader Vettel, Alonso and Massa.

Lap 17/49: Pit stop for Rosberg, Webber, Button and Alonso.

Lap 18/49: Vettel and Massa pit. Fastest lap for Hamilton. Glock retires. Hamilton passes Barrichello for P5. Senna retires.

Lap 20/49: Fastest lap for Massa (P3). Schumacher in P7.

Lap 21/49: Liuzzi pits.He rejoins in P10. Vettel P1, Alonso P2, Massa P3.

Lap 23/49: Barrichello overtakes Buemi for P10.

Lap 24/49: Webber tailing Button for P7. Kubica overtakes de la Rosa for P12.

Lap 25/49: Kubica passes Buemi for P11. Pit stop for Trulli.

Lap 26/49: Buemi pits.

Lap 27/49: Alguersuari and Hulkenberg pit for the second time.

Lap 29/49: de la Rosa pits. But he retires. Fastest lap for Alonso.

Lap 30/49: Vettel P1, Alonso P2, Massa P3, Hamilton P4, Rosberg P5.

Lap 31/49: Alonso now 1.1 secs to Vettel.

Lap 32/49: Pit stop for Kovalainen.

Lap 34/49: Alonso tailing Vettel for P1.

Lap 35/49: Alonso takes the lead. Massa overtakes Vettel. Alonso P1, Massa P2, Vettel P3.

Lap 37/49: An exhaust has failed on Vettel’s RB6.

Lap 38/49: Hamilton overtakes Vettel for P3.

Lap 39/49: Hamilton laments vibrations over the radio.

Lap 42/49: Alonso leading the Bahrain Grand Prix, followed by Massa, Hamilton, Vettel, Rosberg, Schumacher, Button, Webber, Liuzzi, Barrichello, Kubica, Sutil, Alguersuari, Buemi, Hulkenberg, Trulli and Kovalainen.

Lap 45/49: Rosberg trying to catch Vettel for P4.

Lap 46/49: Fastest lap for Alonso: 1:58.287.

Lap 48/49: Buemi out.

Last lap: And it’s a one-two finish for Ferrari, with Fernando Alonso ahead of Felipe Massa. Third place for Lewis Hamilton, fourth for Vettel, fifth for Rosberg, sixth for Michael Schumacher, seventh for Jenson Button, eighth for Mark Webber, ninth for Tonio Liuzzi and tenth for Rubens Barrichello.

2010 Bahrain Grand Prix, race results:

Pos. No Driver Team Laps Time Grid Points
1 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 49 Winner 3 25
2 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 49 +16.0 secs 2 18
3 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 49 +23.1 secs 4 15
4 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 49 +38.7 secs 1 12
5 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Benz GP Ltd 49 +40.2 secs 5 10
6 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes Benz GP Ltd 49 +44.1 secs 7 8
7 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 49 +45.2 secs 8 6
8 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 49 +46.3 secs 6 4
9 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 49 +53.0 secs 12 2
10 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 49 +62.4 secs 11 1
11 11 Robert Kubica Renault 49 +69.0 secs 9
12 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 49 +82.9 secs 10
13 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 49 +92.6 secs 18
14 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 48 +1 Lap 13
15 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 47 +2 Laps 21
16 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 46 +3 Laps 15
17 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 46 +3 Laps 20
Ret 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 28 +21 Laps 14
Ret 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 17 +32 Laps 23
Ret 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 16 +33 Laps 19
Ret 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 13 +36 Laps 17
Ret 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 11 +38 Laps 16
Ret 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 2 +47 Laps 22
Ret 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1 +48 Laps 24

No comments yet. Be the first.

Leave a Reply